The finishing school did not last long, though, and in 1847 Sally deeded the property to her nephew, William Reynolds. William and his wife Julia moved in and spent the next years remodeling and adding to the home. Their youngest son John and his wife Katherine were the last to live in the house, and in 1963, the Crawford County Historical Society purchased the home to be used as a museum. Many of the original contents of the home were auctioned off prior to the Historical Society's acquiring the home, but many of those items have since been graciously donated back to the Historical Society to be used in their displays.
We LOVE the open floor plan in this part of the house, as you can stand in the sitting room, look through the next room, and into the law library.
Our final stop on our tour of the estate was at the office of Dr. J. R. Mosier. Dr. Mosier passed away suddenly and for decades his office was left untouched. Years later it was moved from its original location to the property of the Baldwin-Reynolds House. Today it sits exactly as it was when Dr. Mosier last set foot in it. The calendar is open to the year, month, and day; all wall decor hangs exactly where it was in his day; his books, medical equipment, and magazines in the waiting area all lay exactly where they were found. His book-keeping gave us some insight into the types of payment he accepted - everything from currency to sacks of flour and live chickens.
We are especially thrilled that we had a chance to explore Dr. Mosier's office. This was a first for both of us, and an absolute delight!
No admission fee is charged, but please consider donating so that this wonderful non-profit organization can continue to keep the museum open.
Location: 639 Terrace Street, Meadville